Bundoran is proud to be a Douzelage town!

The Douzelage movement was the brainchild of the Granville (France) and Sherborne (UK) Twinning Associations in 1989. Delegates of the twelve founder members, one for each European Community member state, met in 1991 in Granville to sign the charter formally bringing Douzelage into existence.

Douzelage town twinning Bundoran

“The name is a combination of douze for twelve and jumelage for twinning, and although the number of member states and the number of our member towns has grown in the meantime, as the EU is sticking to its twelve stars, so they are sticking to their douze.”

The purpose of Douzelage is simply to foster opportunity and friendship amongst its member towns. Cultural, sporting and educational exchanges between towns lie at the heart of this, and in the longer term commercial and tourism initiatives. Education has always been one of the most important features of the many events and projects organised by the member towns. Indeed the possibilities, which were created for furthering the educational aspirations of the member towns, were one of the most important considerations when forming the Douzelage.

Douzelage is presided over by an international President assisted by two Vice Presidents from different towns all of whom are elected by the delegates for a three-year term. The town Douzelage organisations are organised individually, with some committees being run and funded by the local town council and others being entirely independent in both respects. English is the chosen language for communication within Douzelage internationally, although French is widely used as well.

Bundoran at Douzelage Conference

“Bundoran was one of the first twelve towns to join the Douzelage when it was established, along with Altea – Spain, Bellagio – Italy, Granville – France, Holstebro – Denmark, Houffalize – Belgium, Kötzting – Germany, Meerssen – Netherlands, Niederanven – Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg, Preveza – Greece, Sesimbra – Portugal and Sherborne – United Kingdom”

The full membership of 28 is:

  • Agros, Cyprus
  • Altea, Spain
  • Asikkala – Finland
  • Bad Ktzing, Germany
  • Bellagöio, Italy
  • Bundoran, Ireland
  • Chojna, Poland
  • Granville, France
  • Holstebro, Denmark
  • Houffalize, Belgium
  • Judenburg, Austria
  • Köszeg, Hungary
  • Marsaskala, Malta
  • Meersen, Netherlands
  • Niederanven, Luxembourg
  • Oxelösund, Sweden
  • Preveza, Greece
  • Rokiskis, Lithuania
  • Rovinj, Croatia
  • Sesimbra, Portugal
  • Sherborne, United Kingdom
  • Sigulda, Latvia
  • Siret, Romania
  • Skofja Loka, Slovenia
  • Sušice, Czech Republic
  • Tryavna, Bulgaria
  • Türi, Estonia
  • Zvolen, Slovakia