Irish surf champions decided in Bundoran

Two new Irish surf champions were crowned at the Irish National surfing championships took place at the Peak in Bundoran over the weekend with both a new male and new female emerging at the top of the leaderboard.

Gearóid McDaid of Strandhill and Maia Monaghan of Rossnowlagh were crowned male and female Irish surf champions respectively. In total 10 new champions were named following the two day event on Saturday (1st October) and Sunday (2nd October). The results are outlined below

Bundoran’s Peak provided excellent surf conditions on Sunday following just a short competition on Saturday when the event was abandoned due to the wind.


1. Gearoid Mc Daid
2. Tom Murphy
3. Iarom Madden
4. Rory Tuohy


1. Maia Monaghan
2. Ayesha Garvey
3. Rachel Moore
4. Jude Lee

Longboard Men

1. Andrew Kilfeather
2. EmmetO’Doherty
3. Henry Moore
4. Craig Butler

irish surf champions
Stephen Kilfeather with Emmett O’Doherty and Henry Moore (pic – Irish Surfing Association)

Longboard Women

1. Ruby Knox
2. Gemma Gillespie
3. Maia Monaghan
4. Ayesha Garvey

Masters Men

1. John Britton
2. Kerry Larkin
3. Seamus McGoldrick
4. David Blount

Masters Women

1. Aine O’Donnell

Aine O’Donnell receives her medal (pic – Irish Surfing Association)

Grant Masters

1. Ross Lee
2. Henry Moore
3. Finn Mullen


1. Luke
2. Brian Gordon
3. Nick Mc Carthy
4. Ray Mc Daid


1. Finn Mullen
2. Gabe McSharry
3. Emmet O’Doherty


1. Seamus McGoldrick
2. Andrew Kilfeather
3. Martin Kelly

The Bundoran Weekly Podcast

Check out the latest episode of our weekly podcast below! To find out more click 

Follow Discover Bundoran on Social Media

Similar Posts